Music (empty rambles)

I think I will be posting here far more frequently than I first decided on. And, really, what’s the harm in that? Honestly, I think it’s a good thing. This is a place for you, lovely reader, and for me. For you, it is a look inside the mind of a stranger. For me, it is a way to unscramble my thoughts and share it with a stranger. Are we really strangers though? We have the same words in our head- maybe at different times, in different accents, but the same words nonetheless. I am thinking them, then typing them. You are reading them, and in your head you hear a voice saying them. Or maybe you are blind and you are not reading these words but hearing them. No matter the situation, we are sharing these words. So hello, reader, and welcome to my mind.

I’ve been thinking about music a lot lately. That isn’t so surprising, since music has been around me my entire life. My father is a musician, my grandmother as well (though she has been focusing more on visual art in her old years). Instruments have been offered to me since as far back as I can remember. To some I said yes, to others no. Currently I am taking flute lessons and a guitar class. I still play around on my precious piano, and lately have taken to bass.

But…something bothers me, reader, and it does not just relate to music but dance as well. Recently I have just…not wanted to. I have not wanted to play or practice instruments (or the dance I will be preforming in a week or so). I want to put every instrument in my home, which might I say is a LOT, into a corner and cover it with a thick sheet! Piano? No! Flute? NO! Violin? Well…maybe. My point is that I have, for some reason, been completely disinterested in music. Why now of all times? Have I simply grown tired of the same old sounds? I admit that I did not really want to pursue guitar, and flute has become more of a chore as of late, but piano? Piano was the first instrument I gravitated towards. My musical slump drove me to ask my father (while he was, amazingly, sober. A rare sight indeed) if he had ever had a similar situation. The answer was yes, and it lasted for ten years. So I was further saddened by the situation. My guitar teacher said that she had not had an experience like my own, and my flute teacher advised me to “power through it.”

But in a way…this has been a gift. I have been able to, for the first time in my life, fully enjoy music. I have not been automatically pulling each instrument apart, I have not been seeing the rhythms in my mind, I have not been analyzing it! I have been able to close my eyes and smile and listen to the sounds someone created. What more could I ask for?

If I had the choice of being fluent in every instrument or being able to enjoy music purely, I would, without hesitation, choose the latter! Well…there might be a moment of hesitation.

But only a moment.

~Harmony

Leave a comment