Other Worlds

It rained this morning, and on my way to the bus stop I stepped in a puddle. My socks got soaked, my hair was dripping, and I was shivering so much I could have sworn even my heart was shaking. But I did something that made none of that matter- I listened to music. I put in my earbuds and was transported to a world of peace. A similar thing happened later, during a class of mine. “You may listen to your music,” said the instructor. So I casually put in earbuds and hit play.

It was such a clear sound, such a sudden transformation, that I thought surely other students heard and felt what I did. After looking around I found that no, they did not, it was just me in my own little world.

I will write a follow-up post on this later. Right now, beloved reader, I am far too tired to explain the magic of today. My head throbs and a cough and fever plagues me. Yet I am laying here in the dark, on my bed, listening to this same song…

And I am in another world.

Leave a comment